Marion Technical College Hosting Statewide College Conference; MTC Professors and Students Will Be Recognized

Marion Technical College Hosting Statewide College Conference; MTC Professors and Students Will Be Recognized

(Marion, Ohio) – Educational leaders from across the state will be traveling to Marion Technical College (MTC) for the Annual Conference of the Ohio Association of Two Year Colleges (OATYC) on Friday, October 11.

This year’s conference theme is “Ohio’s Voice: Becoming the Next Higher Ed Stars.” A total of 29 presenters from around the state wills hare new ways to improve student outcomes. The keynote speaker is Dr. Mark Taylor, an international recognized education and expert dedicated to helping improve student learning, persistence, and success after graduation.

Mark Taylor smiles
Mark Taylor, keynote speaker

MTC faculty members Dr. Anna Bogen and Dr. Matt Hollander are being awarded a Teaching Grant Award for an innovative program to get students to learn about the community with projects across English and Sociology courses. In addition, two Marion Technical College students will be awarded $500 scholarships for a study abroad trip to London and Paris in March 2020.

Dr. Anna Bogen, one of two MTC grant recipients

The conference will feature real-world success stories from Ohio faculty, such as MTC’s efforts to break down non-cognitive barriers to student success such as hunger, poverty, childcare and transportation challenges through partnerships with Marion Matters, the Marion Public Library and Ohio Job & Family Services – Marion County. Other sessions focus on teaching a growth mindset and connecting with students on social media.

The conference will also be recognizing the top educators from around the state. Selection criteria for the OATYC teaching honor is based upon innovative approaches to teaching, curriculum development, institutional service, professional development and commitment to the community. They are recognized for teaching excellence by students, peers and administrators.

Dr. Granito smiling
Dr Vince Granito, OATYC president

“It is exciting to have faculty from around the state come together to share cutting-edge ideas and best practices,” said Dr. Vince Granito, OATYC President and Professor at Lorain County Community College.

“These faculty members impact thousands of students’ lives. Sharing new ideas can help all of us empower our students to overcome obstacles and be more successful.”

Teacher of the Year nominees include:

• Mark Tiemeier, Cincinnati State Technical and Community College
• Jon Krabill, Columbus State Community College
• Kristine Glasener, Cuyahoga Community College – Eastern Campus
• Jacquelyn Tamerlano, Cuyahoga Community College – Metropolitan Campus
• Bridget A. Kriner, Ph.D., Cuyahoga Community College – Westshore
• Christine Barnes, Lakeland Community College
• Heather Bubnick, Lorain County Community College
• Tammie Gerke, Miami University Regionals
• Leslie J. Finley, Rhodes State College
• Angela G. Smith Alder, Stark State College
• Mike Holewinski, Terra State Community College
• Dean Hirschi, Ph.D., Washington State Community College

Adjunct Teacher of the Year nominees include:

• Sheena Davis, Cincinnati State Technical and Community College
• Krystal Phillips, Columbus State Community College
• Jaydip DasGupta, Cuyahoga Community College – Eastern Campus
• Dr. Derrick Pledger, Cuyahoga Community College – Metro
• Ritu Sharma, Ph.D., Lakeland Community College
• Sammie L. Davis-Dyson, Lorain County Community College
• Kurt Johnson, Miami University Regionals
• Sally Jeffery, Rhodes State College
• Kip Gardner, Stark State College
• Shannon Lerro, Terra State Community College

John Fallon Early Career Award nominees are:

• Zane Decker, Cincinnati State Technical and Community College
• Angela Howard, Columbus State Community College
• Manjula Chandirasekaran, Cuyahoga Community College – Eastern Campus
• Michael Kenney, Ph.D., Cuyahoga Community College – Metro Campus
• James Corrin, Eastern Gateway Community College
• Daniel Winterich, J.D., Lakeland Community College
• Amber Gillie, Lorain County Community College
• Dr. Deepak Dawar, Miami University – Regionals
• Traci Bitler, Rhodes State College

The OATYC would like to think the following sponsors:

• Diamond Record: eCampus and Taylor Programs
• Platinum: Echo360
• Gold Record: Goodheart-Willcox Publisher, Ocelot, Ohio’s 529 College Advantage and Trajecsys
• Back Stage Pass Sponsors: Examity and Paradigm Education Solutions
• Sponsor: NISOD
• Swag Sponsor: Marion Technical College

Ohio has 23 community colleges. As of 2017, the Ohio Department of Higher Education reported that more than 171,521 students attended community colleges in the Buckeye state. More than 45% of all undergraduate college students start at a two-year college, according to the OATYC. Community colleges are less than half the cost of state universities’ main campuses. In addition, state transfer guarantees ensure that students can continue their education after achieving an associate’s degree.

The OATYC was founded to promote student learning through higher education at state-assisted, two-year colleges in Ohio. The organization’s membership consists of full-time and part-time faculty, administrators and staff of higher educational institutions offering two-year college curricula leading to an associate’s degree as approved by the Ohio Department of Higher Education. For more information, please visit www.oatyc.org.